Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty | Restaurants at 83 Channel Dr - Point Pleasant Beach NJ - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number

Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty

4.5
537 reviews
Restaurants
 83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(732) 899-6700

Write a review

All reviews summary

4.5
537 reviews
5345
  
4135
  
357
  
2 
  
1 
  
  • 335 reviews4.7
  • 133 reviews4.5
  • 69 reviews4.0
5on Facebook, Apr 17, 2017
My family, of 10, and I came down for the Easter buffet. Man was it amazing. Every taste, every style, fresh seafood, tender steak, juicy lamb. The dining hall was gorgeous. The staff was exceptional. I totally recommend this place to everyone for any event. They went above and beyond putting together a great holiday feast. more »
5on Facebook, Apr 17, 2017
more »
4on Facebook, Apr 15, 2017
more »
3on Facebook, Mar 27, 2017
Well, this year was a little disappointing as it was my Dad's 75th birthday and its a family tradition to have a lobster meal. They did not have the 2 lb lobster or larger sizes available, although the manager did call over to the other restaurant. We didn't get bibs...I think the waitress was new or I offended her when I asked for a larger lobster. The food was good, but it is a little pricey. We go every year nonetheless, this year was not as great as prior years... more »
Business Response:
Hi Rachel. We are sorry to hear that we didn't have larger lobsters in house the day you visited. In the future you can always call ahead and request a specific size and we will make sure to have it one hand for you. All of our lobsters are to be served with lobster bibs. We are sorry you didn't receive one and will be sure to speak to our staff about proper service. Please send us a private message with your address so we can get a little something out to you with our apologies.
4on Trip Advisor, Feb 28, 2017
can't give it 5 stars, because in summer the wait is crazy and they don't take reservations. Nice view of water, when you can get a seat by window. Food good, but best thing is the piano player. He plays nice soft relaxing dinner music. more »
Business Response:
Hi Rueven, We're sorry to hear that you were told we don't accept reservations in the summer. We accept reservations of all size parties year round. Please give us a call when you plan to visit next and we'll make sure to get your reservation in our book.
5on Facebook, Feb 26, 2017
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Feb 24, 2017
Have stopped by a number of times off season for lunch. Very nice to sit by a window on the water. Food is good although the prices have consistently creeped up. Plan around $15 to $20 PP for lunch entree plus drink of your choice. Very crowded in warmer weather but the outdoor restaurant deck is open if the weather is good. more »
3on Trip Advisor, Feb 16, 2017
jack bakers is a nice clean restaurant good for the whole family. the food is similar to red lobster menu,though not as good. more »
3on Trip Advisor, Feb 13, 2017
The Atmosphere was very nice due to the Saturday before Valentines Day.. There was a piano player who also sang & was very good... For apps. we had Lobster Bisque soup. It had chunks of Lobster but it had No taste. :( I had a Seafood Combo with asparagus which was good... She had Salmon which came out rare... (Not Good) We sent it back to get cooked some more..She also had spinach which was very good... The Manager came over & apologized & took our soups off the bill!!! VERY PROFESSIONAL... :) more »
5on Facebook, Feb 12, 2017
This restaurant is nothing short of spectacular. Kristen our server was fantastic. The food was amazing and the chocolate martinis was delicious πŸ‘πŸ‘ more »
5on Facebook, Jan 16, 2017
I was there for a BabyShower, and was loving the decor and the food was top notch. I had the Prime Rib, which was delish!!! more »
5on Facebook, Jan 01, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, Dec 26, 2016
Excellent seafood every time we go! New England clam chowder this best and fresh off the boat! If you want seafood this is the place to be.. had a great time and great atmosphere for Christmas Eve! more »
5on Facebook, Dec 25, 2016
The lobster was delicious and the service was great! more »
5on Facebook, Dec 17, 2016
Good food at a good price. Service was exceptional. more »
5on Facebook, Dec 13, 2016
My husband's family hold's their family Christmas party there and it gets better every year. The food was outstanding, people were carrying two plates filled with so much food and going back for seconds. I love going every year, can't wait for next year! more »
5on Facebook, Dec 06, 2016
more »
4on Facebook, Dec 03, 2016
Had my office Christmas party here, it was nice. Good bartending, nice setting. more »
5on Facebook, Dec 03, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Dec 01, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Nov 28, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Nov 26, 2016
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Nov 24, 2016
My husband and I splurged for Lobster Night during restaurant week. We decided to go on a Saturday night. The restaurant is tastefully decorated, and there was LIVE PIANO MUSIC during our dinner; how nice!
Although many other reviewers state that the food here is not as good as it used to be, we found everything to be tasty, with HUGE portions.
Our server was WONDERFUL and extremely attentive, providing beverage refills without being asked, and even picking up items dropped on the floor. She remembered all of our additional items, and was extremely pleasant and personable.
My husband had the clams casino (an added app), the tuna tacos, and the lobster Margarita. All items were HUGE and yummy. The tacos were served on a Turkey platter plate, and covered with AHI TUNA. The lobster was steamed and covered with beans and corn salsa. We were also given a basket of yummy bread and hush puppies which were so sweet they tasted like Zeppoles!).
I ordered the lobster bisque soup, and the steamed lobster with coconut shrimp. Both were yummo. We also ordered a side of cole slaw.We both finished the evening with the included Key Lime pie (which we took home, since we were both stuffed to the gills!)
The place was absolutely bopping, as there were weddings and a 50th anniversary party also taking place during our visit. everyone was happy, the staff was extremely accommodating, and there was plenty of room to wander, given the large lobby. We never felt crowded in this restaurant/catering hall.
I understand that the menu is "heavy" on seafood, as previous reviewers commented. But this is a SEAFOOD restaurant; if you want other types of food, you should NOT be eating here. And there is a non-seafood Jack Baker's right across the street.
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the quantity/quality of food, the large assortment of lobster meals available during restaurant week, and the fact that there was a singer in the restaurant. The lovely view of the water only added to the ambiance. This was truly a perfect meal in a perfect setting.
more »
5on Facebook, Nov 21, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Oct 31, 2016
more »
Page 4 of 17

Google reviews summary

4.5
133 reviews
582
  
436
  
315
  
2 
  
1 
  

Contact Us

Edit
83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Restaurants
Today 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm

About

Edit
Nestled on Channel Drive between the commercial lobster and fishing boats with stunning views of the Manasquan River, this classic American Seafood & Steakhouse restaurant has, since 1955, been a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. After Hurricane Sandy we rushed to get the Sunset Ballroom opened in time for the events we had already booked. The restaurant was the next focus. While we were making repairs we decided to update the layout and some of the features. We are happy to be open again! Jersey Strong! Sunset Ballroom is our wedding and event venue: https://www.facebook.com/TheSunsetBallroom http://thesunsetballroom.com/ Wedding Wire: http://bit.ly/SH4GJMmore »
Contact Us