Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty | Restaurants at 83 Channel Dr - Point Pleasant Beach NJ - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number

Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty

4.5
506 reviews
Restaurants
 83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(732) 899-6700

Write a review

All reviews summary

4.5
506 reviews
5326
  
4129
  
351
  
2 
  
1 
  
  • 328 reviews4.7
  • 112 reviews4.5
  • 66 reviews4.0
4on Trip Advisor, Aug 10, 2016
After spending a morning fishing on a nearby party boat, we opted to have dinner at the Lobster Shanty after spending some time to change our clothes. It was a wise decision.
The cornbread fritt
ers are outstanding along with the lobster bisque. My wife had the seafood platter (shrimp overdone) while I had the Fisherman's Platter (all great). We shared a dish of vanilla ice cream for desert (it was more than expected.). The Shanty is more classy and expensive than its neighbor the Wharfside, but if you want a quiet dinner with good service, then the Shanty should be your choice. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Aug 07, 2016
Food is never a disappointment here. Service is great, view of the harbour is wonderful. Nice that they have parking. A bit pricey but it the Jersey Shore. Worth it for a special occassion more »
5on Facebook, Jul 28, 2016
Went to bridal shower. Everything was great..
Will go again.
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jul 27, 2016
This restaurant seems to have gotten better. No outside dining, but it offers a little better atmosphere than most of the shore spots. We all had orders of steamers, plus one shrimp cocktail. They were all good. We each had a 2 1/2 lobsters, steamed. Also, they were good. Everything seemed fresh. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jul 26, 2016
Went to Lobster Shanty for a birthday celebration. The food was excellent. The service was subpar. All the waitstaff looked very young so it led me to believe they had a lot of inexperienced summer staff. That did not detract from the delicious food. I should clarify a little. We ordered drunkin clams, mussels in white wine and clams casino. The clams casino were excellent. The mussels were very large and didn't seem to be completely cooked (a little mushy) and the clams seem the same (not completely cooked). Maybe we just like our shellfish a little firmer. On to the entrees, not a bad thing to say about any of the 7 entrees served. Everyone enjoyed their entree. Three of us had the King Crab and two of us could not finish. It was a very generous portion. One of us had Crab Cakes and they were to very large crab cakes. They also went home. Strip steak was delicious. The filet and lobster ditto. The only one who did not care for their meal ordered the Fishermans platter which is normally fried but he requested it be broiled. He actually said it had no flavor. I guess if you stray from the norm they aren't sure how to make the dish flavorful. This place is not inexpensive. If you want soup or salad there is an additional fee. The view is beautiful, you sit in a room with windows on three sides overlooking the water. It is a smaller dining room so you should make reservations in advance. more »
5on Facebook, Jul 02, 2016
Had my daughter's Bridal Shower there on June 11th and it was great & everyone loved it. They do a wonderful job. L Heller more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 29, 2016
We had a lovely post beach dinner with our grandsons and daughter on Early asunday evening. Great service, beautiful view and uncrowded dining room. Three had steaks which were fabulous. My grandson ate all his filet mignon and the lobsters are very good as well. Not inexpensive but we got our money's worth ! Highly reccomend it more »
5on Facebook, Jun 21, 2016
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 13, 2016
BF made a reservation here for my Birthday since it was recommended by a friend. The atmosphere inside & out is beautiful especially if sitting by the window as we requested. Lobster tails were great, drinks were good and the sides of potatoes and corn was very tasty. I will say that my boyfriend wasn't overly pleased with the filet mignon. But overall a great experience. Would we go back - sure why not. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jun 10, 2016
Is Friday night at the Jersey Shore. We made reservations thinking that it was going to be impossible to find a table. To our amazement the place was totally empty. We sat and ordered. Dinner was delicious service was pleasant. The place looks beautify and clean. Can't understand why there was no one there. Only one other table. I hope people will come and enjoy this wonderful place. We even had a one man show. A gentleman playing and singing very soft traditional music. more »
5on Facebook, Jun 09, 2016
The lobster shanty was perfect! From the occasion which was a wedding reception, the view was great. The staff and food could not have been better! I recommend more »
5on Facebook, Jun 03, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, May 25, 2016
more »
5on Trip Advisor, May 18, 2016
From the moment you enter, the congeniality and graciousness is abundant,
Then, the superb seafood selections and outstanding and the preparation make this the only establishment you would want
to go to for quality taste and service. more »
5on Facebook, May 15, 2016
We were here for a christening party. The food is fantastic! more »
5on Facebook, May 10, 2016
more »
4on Facebook, May 08, 2016
more »
4on Facebook, Apr 28, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Apr 28, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Apr 27, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Apr 26, 2016
more »
3on Trip Advisor, Apr 21, 2016
lunch with female friends has nice pleasant interior large looks like a diner for huge groups . average food staple place your conversations will over ride. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Feb 17, 2016
Wonderful place with a great view of Manasquan Inlet. Very attentive friendly staff. Was never rushed. Food was fresh ,well cooked and presented perfectly Bread ,rolls and cole slaw served as you were seated more »
5on Trip Advisor, Feb 03, 2016
Love the Lobster Shanty. Been coming here for many years and am never disappointed. The food is always fresh, large portions and service is terrific. more »
3on Trip Advisor, Jan 17, 2016
Went here for a romantic dinner - had a nice table by he window. All servers and hostess have a very nice attitude. Piano player singing nice songs. Cosmos icy cold but weak. My seafood cioppino was filled with lots of shrimp, huge mussels and scallops and the broth delicious. Husband's Brazilian lobster tails were good, although a bit tough. Would love to see bananas foster return to the menu as in the old days along with cherries jubilee- but dessert of ice cream sundae and key lime pie were ok. Expensive but still one of nicer places in the area. Especially nice in the winter to sit by the water and avoid the summer crowd which can be a big drawback. more »
Page 5 of 16

Google reviews summary

4.5
112 reviews
570
  
431
  
311
  
2 
  
1 
  

Contact Us

Edit
83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Restaurants
Today 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

About

Edit
Nestled on Channel Drive between the commercial lobster and fishing boats with stunning views of the Manasquan River, this classic American Seafood & Steakhouse restaurant has, since 1955, been a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. After Hurricane Sandy we rushed to get the Sunset Ballroom opened in time for the events we had already booked. The restaurant was the next focus. While we were making repairs we decided to update the layout and some of the features. We are happy to be open again! Jersey Strong! Sunset Ballroom is our wedding and event venue: https://www.facebook.com/TheSunsetBallroom http://thesunsetballroom.com/ Wedding Wire: http://bit.ly/SH4GJMmore »
Contact Us