Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty | Restaurants at 83 Channel Dr - Point Pleasant Beach NJ - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number

Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty

4.5
506 reviews
Restaurants
 83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(732) 899-6700

Write a review

All reviews summary

4.5
506 reviews
5326
  
4129
  
351
  
2 
  
1 
  
  • 328 reviews4.7
  • 112 reviews4.5
  • 66 reviews4.0
5on Facebook, Oct 21, 2015
We had our 30th anniversary party there...GREAT job. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Oct 18, 2015
I took my grandmother here for dinner. The ahi tuna I had was amazing!! When the waitress said sushi grade, she wasn't kidding. I made the mistake of having my grandmother get the lobster tails, as she really wanted lobster. As she is older, I didn't want her to have to fuss with breaking apart a steamed lobster. In hindsight I should have, since the broiling process does tend to make the meat a little tougher. Overall though still a wonderful meal. My only downside was their wine list. For a beautiful location, top quality food and wonderful staff, they really need to invest in a better wine by the glass selection. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Sep 28, 2015
We wanted a lobster dinner before winter for a special occasion We chose the right place. We have been here before, Our steamed lobsters were perfectly prepared. We were able to chose other side dishes. We were seated promptly. We had an attentive waitress. An ideal experience more »
5on Trip Advisor, Sep 20, 2015
What a great place. Very family oriented, good value and a
Great view of the inlet. Always fast service.
more »
5on Facebook, Aug 21, 2015
One of my family's traditional favorites for decades.
Excellent food and drink, great views of the water.
more »
5on Facebook, Aug 08, 2015
more »
5on Facebook, Aug 04, 2015
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 28, 2015
great place to take the whole family took my mom for 75 b day for 9 everything was great. after signing happy b day piano guy took family pick great view great service greatest wait staff especialy Kassia more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 18, 2015
We had a nice luncheon here as part of a Lakeland Bus tour of Jenkinson's Aquarium/Boardwalk & River Belle cruise. Served warm rolls, fruit plate, salad and an Apricot Chicken for me and Seafood combo for my wife - all tasty. Dessert was NY-style Cheesecake. Service was attentive & friendly. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jul 07, 2015
Went there for a repast...food was very good, service was very good and scenery was very good. All in all....very good more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 27, 2015
It was a holiday weekend so of course it was very crowded. It took 1 hour to find a seat. The food was very good. The burger was great! There were 2 bands while we were there. It was nice to listen to. The wait staff was very polite and kept our table clean. The view was really pleasant and comforting. Nice place to visit if you are at the Jersey shore!! more »
5on Facebook, May 17, 2015
more »
5on Facebook, May 17, 2015
Hello, my name is Liz and my husband Niño and I photographed a wedding at this venue last night. We were blown away by the service and how welcoming and accommodating the staff was. We were provided seating and a table for downloading photos and keeping equipment organized, a table for our same day slideshow to play, and custom ordered vendor meals which were the same quality as the guest meals and served at the same time. We were even given ten minute heads up for entrances, special dances, and cake cutting. This may all seem small but for the productivity and energy of wedding photographers, this is all huge. It actually helps us do our job well when a venue is so welcoming and helpful, and I just wanted to commend the staff on helping us provide the best possible photos for our clients last night. We hope to work here again soon and we highly recommend this venue for weddings! If they take such good care of the photographers, imagine how they treat their clients? :) Thanks again, Niño Gallego Studios more »
5on Facebook, Apr 26, 2015
Great Food... Great Atmosphere....
Great Service. A Fantastic Dinner Out...
more »
3on Trip Advisor, Apr 15, 2015
Jack Baker's is a local landmark that is very popular in the summer. The fish is good, however, my family enjoys eating at the smaller fish restaurants. more »
3on Trip Advisor, Mar 05, 2015
We have been going here occasionally for special occasions for 7-8 years. The atmosphere and foid are always great but the waitress was extremely rude and miserable. She was lucky that I wasn't paying because I would have left her no tip and I only did this once before in my lifetime. Yes we all have bad days but this needs to be tempered. more »
5on Facebook, Feb 28, 2015
more »
3on Trip Advisor, Feb 18, 2015
Let me start by saying my wife and I visited the Lobster Shanty on a cold midweek evening. There were only 2 other tables to wait on. So even though the service we received was great, I'll reserve my 'service' grade for a situation where the circumstances aren't as favorable.
We asked for a seat by the window as the restaurant was empty and a seat by the water would be a plus. The draft from the wall was incredible! It was a strong freezing draft, so unless you're wearing long johns, stay away from the wall tables.
Both my wife and I got the advertised 3 course lobster meal and in my opinion it was a decent value. They brought bread and corn fritters for us after taking our order. The corn fritters were amazing! For appetizers, I got the lobster bisque, my wife got the calamari. The bisque was thick and there was an adequate amount of lobster in it. Great flavor and one of the better lobster bisques I've ever had. We were also more than satisfied with the portion of calamari. My wife and I couldn't finish it before dinner came. Also, their wine and drink menu was impressive as well. Very good options and reasonably priced.
As for our entrees, I got the 1 1/2 lb lobster dinner, my wife got the coconut shrimp & 1/2 lobster. They came with potatoes and corn. Potatoes were cold and had NO flavor. Lobster was decent but a bit overcooked...to the point where some meat stuck to the shell. Coconut shrimp was flavorful. At the end of the day, I was more impressed with the appetizers than the entrees. I would definitely go back, but I wouldn't run back. Don't expect 4 star dining, but if you're in the mood for seafood and you live in the area you can do ALOT worse.
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jan 13, 2015
We spent New Year's Eve at the Lobster Shanty in Pt. Pleasant, N. J. It was a wonderful evening. Our waitress Steph was excellent, friendly, attentive, a real joy. Dinner was excellent, my lobster tails were so tasty, I didn't need to dip them into the butter (but I did anyway). My boyfriend had the prime rib, which couldn't be better, perfectly cooked and tender. The music of Brian Kirk and the Jerks had us dancing all night long. I will definitely go back again!! more »
5on Facebook, Jan 07, 2015
The Lobster Shanty offers a wonderful menu, and the service is always great! My family & I "love" it! ❤️ more »
3on Trip Advisor, Jan 05, 2015
Sunday night dinner with friends. App (Lobster Bisque and Calamari) and dessert (Blueberry Cobbler) excellent but very disappointed in the Lobster Cakes. Very small and no visible sigh of lobster and no flavor. Service was very good. more »
3on Trip Advisor, Nov 01, 2014
As a lifelong shore restaurant, I used to eat here with my parents as a kid. Continued to bring friends and family here until recently. The service is adequate. The meal looked like it was plated at a fast food joint. Extremely disappointed and was actually embarrassed last time I took my sisters there. Was my last visit. Sad to think the reputation they cultured is now just a cash cow.
I must say the bread basket corn fritters are still delicious. Margaritas will satisfy a person who likes a hearty cocktail.
more »
3on Trip Advisor, Sep 29, 2014
I have been going here since I was a kid. Keep going back, but it's more out of habit then the quality of the food.
Service is adequate, there is some degree of ambience given its right on
the water.
Very popular eatery. Parking can be a real headache.
Expect delay to get in, but they do their best to move you to your table.
The food is nothing special, but it is okay.
I'll go back again, but like I say- it's out of habit.
more »
5on Facebook, Sep 13, 2014
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Sep 08, 2014
This place has been one of the places we go to over and over. They make your salard by your table and ask what you like. Fresh meals everytime. Enjoy looking out over the water. more »
Page 7 of 16

Google reviews summary

4.5
112 reviews
570
  
431
  
311
  
2 
  
1 
  

Contact Us

Edit
83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Restaurants
Today 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

About

Edit
Nestled on Channel Drive between the commercial lobster and fishing boats with stunning views of the Manasquan River, this classic American Seafood & Steakhouse restaurant has, since 1955, been a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. After Hurricane Sandy we rushed to get the Sunset Ballroom opened in time for the events we had already booked. The restaurant was the next focus. While we were making repairs we decided to update the layout and some of the features. We are happy to be open again! Jersey Strong! Sunset Ballroom is our wedding and event venue: https://www.facebook.com/TheSunsetBallroom http://thesunsetballroom.com/ Wedding Wire: http://bit.ly/SH4GJMmore »
Contact Us