Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty | Restaurants at 83 Channel Dr - Point Pleasant Beach NJ - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number

Point Pleasant Lobster Shanty

4.5
506 reviews
Restaurants
 83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(732) 899-6700

Write a review

All reviews summary

4.5
506 reviews
5326
  
4129
  
351
  
2 
  
1 
  
  • 328 reviews4.7
  • 112 reviews4.5
  • 66 reviews4.0
5on Trip Advisor, Sep 06, 2014
Excellent dining experience. Quiet atmosphere in elegant setting. Food was incredible!! We loved the mussel appetizer and the lobster dinner. We eat here every time we come to Point Pleasant Beach. The food is always excellent. The service was outstanding. View of bay from window table was beautiful and relaxing! The valet parking was a plus!!! more »
4on Facebook, Aug 29, 2014
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Aug 27, 2014
I have been eating at the Lobster Shanty for many years now, but have not been back recently. Having read more than a few negative reviews, I cautiously visited the Shanty last week with my wife and mother-in-law. We arrived at 5:00pm as they opened and decided to use the free valet service, given my mother-in-law's disability. They quickly took my car (and I quickly got it back later with no fuss).
We were able to get a table by a window. and our waiter gave us menus and asked us for drink orders as he brought the bread and the corn fritters, which were amazing as always. We all ordered lobster from the prix fixe menu, which included an appetizer, a lobster and a dessert. For appetizers we had the coconut shrimp (ok), the lobster bisque (very good with lots of lobster meat) and my wife substituted for a salad, which was very good.
We upgraded the lobsters to 2 lb and they were all cooked perfectly and were delicious. No complaints whatsoever. Really great lobster.
Deserts were also very good. I had key lime pie as did my mother-in-law while my wife had the blueberry cobbler. We enjoyed them all.
Overall, a very good dining experience. My mother-in-law can be fussy and complain a bit, but she was happy with her meal and service. My only complaint is that they no longer serve the famous Bananas Foster. Shame! We loved that desert!
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Aug 21, 2014
Excellent dining experience. Quiet atmosphere in elegant setting. Food was very good especially the mussel appetizer and the lobster dinner. Service was outstanding. View of bay from window table was also a plus! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Aug 21, 2014
I eat here every time I stay in Point Pleasant Beach. The food is always excellent. There is a nice view of the river. In the warmer months usually there is a waiting time for a table. If you can';t find a parking place in their parking lot, you have to pay to park in the street. more »
5on Facebook, Aug 14, 2014
My baby shower was here last Saturday and it was perfect! The food was amazing, the portions were great, the service was spot on and the atmosphere was just what I wanted. We will be having many more parties here! Thank you!! more »
3on Trip Advisor, Aug 07, 2014
Four lunched here 8/6/2014. As others have found, the setting overlooking the water is really nice and relaxing. We dined outside. Service was pleasant. Overall, this was an average lunch, certainly less than we expected.
We were immediately served a dish of cole slaw (very good) and a basket of bread: sliced Italian and fried puffs (these were excellent!).
The clam chowder was very good as was the lobster bisque. The lobster roll ($20) was "good" and served with French fries ("OK"). Clams Casino (7 on the plate) were very good. We all determined the calamari was excellent.
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Aug 01, 2014
The lobster shanty accepts reservation and is more upscale than the "Wharfside" next door.
Nice views - we had a large round / corner table for 8 people.
All entrees were good - swordfish
was a thick slice, served moist (not dried out). Scallops were plentiful and tasty. Prime rib was actually very good, too.
Wine list is VERY affordable - we had a bottle of Brunello di Montelcino for ~$70.00 - - - very reasonable price.
It's large & can be a little noisy
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 16, 2014
Amazing food, amazing service, and a beautiful view of the water. I'm picky with my food, and it was delicious! more »
5on Facebook, Jul 15, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jul 12, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jul 09, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jul 05, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 30, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 29, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 26, 2014
more »
3on Trip Advisor, Jun 24, 2014
The location is wonderful! It is right on the water and you can watch the boats going by. I have been here before and every time, the food is never hot. It was a buffet brunch and the food looks steaming hot but it never is. There is not a lot of flavor either. It is just OK. I have had better. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 24, 2014
After a long happy hour next door at the Patio Bar we decided we wanted a nice sit down meal and figured we'd try the Lobster Shanty. So glad we did! They took us in at 11pm and were thrilled to see us. The wait staff was super friendly and happy. How often can you say that? I had the $30 fixed meal. Soup, entree and desert. My boyfriend ordered off the menu. Soup was amazing. I had the zuppa de pesche over pasta. Oh my god!!!my boyfriend had the lobster. It was perfect. It was a very good meal in a great atmosphere. I will definitely be going back. Oh and they had a lovely gentleman singing and playing the piano. I think his name was John. He was amazing. more »
5on Facebook, Jun 24, 2014
more »
4on Facebook, Jun 20, 2014
more »
3on Facebook, Jun 19, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 11, 2014
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 10, 2014
The restaurant is located right on the water. We were there on a beautiful sunnt day, and the views from any of the rooms in the restaurant were very nice. The food was OK, but neither great or bad. Go early to avoid the crowds. more »
4on Facebook, Jun 09, 2014
more »
5on Facebook, Jun 06, 2014
more »
Page 8 of 16

Google reviews summary

4.5
112 reviews
570
  
431
  
311
  
2 
  
1 
  

Contact Us

Edit
83 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Restaurants
Today 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

About

Edit
Nestled on Channel Drive between the commercial lobster and fishing boats with stunning views of the Manasquan River, this classic American Seafood & Steakhouse restaurant has, since 1955, been a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. After Hurricane Sandy we rushed to get the Sunset Ballroom opened in time for the events we had already booked. The restaurant was the next focus. While we were making repairs we decided to update the layout and some of the features. We are happy to be open again! Jersey Strong! Sunset Ballroom is our wedding and event venue: https://www.facebook.com/TheSunsetBallroom http://thesunsetballroom.com/ Wedding Wire: http://bit.ly/SH4GJMmore »
Contact Us