Wharfside | Restaurants at 101 Channel Dr - Point Pleasant Beach NJ - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number
Edit

Wharfside

4.4
983 reviews
(Restaurants)
 101 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742US

Write a review

Rating Error
Review Error
(732) 892-9100

Write a review

5on Facebook, Jul 13, 2016
more »
5on Facebook, Jul 11, 2016
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 11, 2016
Delicious, authentic seafood. Beautiful waterside dining and fun Outside Patio with live music. The corn fritters are incredible- but be careful, I ate too many and got too full! Amazing early bird special deal too with so much food! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 09, 2016
if you crave great seafood ,this is the place to go// we went for lunch and the service was great and the coconut shrimp was super // more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 06, 2016
The outside "Patio Bar" is the spot to enjoy beautiful views of the inlet with a cold drink in hand, a bite to eat and kick back and listen to some great live music. It's a beach town so weekends in the summer are pretty packed, I suggest visiting on a weekday, still fun but a little more "room" more »
5on Facebook, Jul 02, 2016
Great family place! We had a excellent experience. The food, location and wait staff (especially "Kim S.") were spot on. Hope to return again soon! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jul 01, 2016
Walk up to the window and order your food - enjoy the view while you wait for your food. This is a great place to hang out with friends to have a beer and some food. It's nice and beach-side casual enjoyed by tourists and locals alike. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jun 30, 2016
Great place love the vibe there. Food and drinks are great. Can't wait to go back. Gets crowed on weekends so be prepared to wait for a seat. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jun 30, 2016
Arrived and they parking lots were packed so was pleasantly surprised when we were seated immediately. Great meal! more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 28, 2016
You come here to sit outside and watch the boats go by on a summer night at the shore. The food is typical seafood nothing to write home about. I did have the broiled scallops and the portion was huge as was the brownie sundae. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jun 27, 2016
This is a very nice restaurant and bar located right on the water. You can watch the fishing and pleasure boats on the bay from everywhere. Inside and out. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 25, 2016
Since it was a nice day we decided to go to the Patio Bar so we could sit by the water. We each ordered a seafood and fries lunch. Good but nothing special. The drinks were ok and at happy hour Friday prices. The best part was the local musical entertainment and watching a "yacht" get stuck on a sandbar by the channel and everyone aboard being 'rescued' by a tow boat. Made for a very pleasant lunch. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jun 22, 2016
Kick back and enjoy the Jersey Shore experience. Jack Baker's Wharfside Restaurant is a great place to end the day with a great meal and a great view. Eat outside on the patio, it is worth the wait. The service is excellent, the food, well worth the price. You will not be disappointed. We went there for Father's Day after a day at Monmouth Race Track. No, I did not win, but being with the family was winning enough! Spoke to the Hostess and she said 45 minutes, so we sat at the bar which is very comfortable and well stocked. The time passed fast and we were at table on the patio. WOW! The lobster, salmon, shrimp and calamari were 'out of this world'! Try it, and I believe you will return. We do at least 2 to 3 times a year. Happy Traveling! more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 21, 2016
My daughter and Son-in-Law treated my wife and I this Father's Day.
We had the best pizza with crab topping. Raw bar shrimp and clams were awesome. Good service, good band. Beautiful day. G
ood time.
Pricey, yes. You pay for the experience! Probably will only go once or twice this summer. It gets really crowded for parking and sitting.
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 19, 2016
Haven't been down to the shore in years. I went with two other friends for a late lunch (unfortunately we ended up having dinner which was a bit pricey). I also haven't had 'hush puppies' in so many years. I couldn't stop eating them! YUMMY! Our entrees came with a lovely antipasto salad, served table-side. This was a nice treat. Service was very good (Eric)(thank you). We sat & chatted for quite some time and enjoyed the ambience (right off the water, sea gulls screaming, but funny/entertaining). My crab cakes were very good, not too much filling and quite tasty. Hope to go back again before the season goes into high gear. more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 18, 2016
As locals, we visit the inside restaurant of the Wharfside all year round. We prefer it during the off-season, when there are no crowds and the service is better.
But from early June, there is a
nother option - the adjoining Patio Bar, which also offers a limited menu of bar food.
The food is greasy and so-so. The service is basic. The prices are too high.
Nevertheless, the attraction here is the great location on the wide part of the Manasquan River, just west of the Inlet.
For us, the Mandatory Spring Visit to the Patio Bar is our Official Start of Summer.
--Pick a sunny day, preferably not on the weekend.
--Order a Corona, or a fruit juice and rum drink.
--Watch the seagulls flock on the sandbar.
--See the half-day fishing boats, and the occasional kayak, sailing by.
--Order another round of drinks.
--Drop both your blood pressure and your IQ by 20 points in an hour.
Try our Rite of Spring, and make it your annual tradition.
.
more »
4on Trip Advisor, Jun 09, 2016
Went to the Wharf side with friends, waitress Kimm, was very friendly and accommodating. Food was great and atmosphere was a 10. Can't wait to go back again!! more »
3on Trip Advisor, Jun 07, 2016
We went here on June 5th at about 4:45. Walked in and told the young lady that there will be 8 of us and she wouldn't seat us until the entire party was there. I finally had to tell her that they the two would be here soon they were setting up next door for a wedding that we were attending. Boy, she rolled her eyes and said follow me. No I didn't complain because everyone has a bad day and besides the manager witness it and just turned around.
If our waitress was going to be like that, then we all were ready to leave but he wasn't. I think his name was Joe. He was fabulous. He made us forget our front door welcome and turned it into a great place to eat.
My mahi-mahi was fantastic and everyone else seem to get shrimp stuffed with crabmeat or a sirloin and nobody complained. A little heavy on the salad dressing (not fast enough to say that's enough). Also they make them at the table. Didn't have time for a dessert but boy they sounded good.
more »
5on Trip Advisor, May 31, 2016
We went here on May 28 for our Anniversary. The food and service were excellent, especially since it was crowded on a Saturday. Arrived at 5 pm and walked right in, since we wanted seating inside rather than outside on the patio. Our server was Emily F, she was terrific. Food excellent. Parking was tough, as the parking also covers the outside Bar and the Lobster shanty Restaurant next door, but we managed to find a spot after circling a few times. more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 28, 2016
Whether you dine inside or outside on the patio you will not be disappointed. The outdoor patio and bar is always a fun place to dine and listen to a live band. At night the view of the water and boats going in or out the inlet make dining at the Wharfside a relaxing place to be. Food and service are always good. more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 24, 2016
I've been to this resturant mutliple times and was never disappointed! The view is great, the food is amazing, and the prices aren't bad. more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 23, 2016
I am a local and love the outdoor Patio Bar in the summer. Their keylime pie is amazing - you have to try it!
I love oysters but stopped ordering them here because they don't handle them we
ll. They prepare them in such a hurry that they always get the dirty shell gunk in the oyster. Yuck!
View is amazing and the bands are often very good - the Pickles are my favorite! :)
more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 22, 2016
Today was my wife’s 65th Birthday so we decided to celebrate it with a lobster lunch at Wharfside. We got there shortly after they opened and got a table with a great view overlooking the inlet and also the boats that were waiting to race in the Point Pleasant Offshore Grand Prix. The largest lobster they had was only 1 3/4lbs; I was hoping for 2lbs or bigger. The important part was my wife liked her lobster and enjoyed her birthday lunch. more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 21, 2016
I met 3 other friends here for Lunch. We all had a soup (New England Clam Chowder & Lobster Bisque) very good. The lunches
..Lobster Roll, Cashew encrusted Flounder, Stuffed Flounder, and
Maryland Crab Cakes. The were all tasty and had one side included.
The portion was OK for a women, but definately not for a Man.
guess if you want a view you have to pay for it. Service was very
good, but probably won't go back. Bill with tip $30.00.!!
more »
4on Trip Advisor, May 21, 2016
Jack Baker is a legendary restauranteur at the Jersey shore and his two restaurants in Point Pleasant Beach on the water have been in business for three days less than forever. We have been there dozens of times over the last almost 50 years. The restaurant has had its ups and downs but recently it appears to be up. We went there Friday night and were pessimistic about getting a table based on the crowd in the parking lot. Turns out there was a wedding party at the Lobster Shanty. We went next door to the Wharfside. We were pleased. We got a waterfront table promptly and ordered a round of drinks. The drinks were generous. My wife ordered French onion soup and I got a shrimp cocktail which consisted of six decent sized shrimp. My wife ordered the scallops and I got the seafood combo of scallops, shrimp and a cod fillet. The meal comes with a salad prepared table side and a choice of side. When you first sit down your table is presented with some hush puppies and a side of coleslaw.
Our food was served hot, the fish was very fresh and the taste was very appealing. The combo was broiled and served in butter. While the scallops were almost too much to eat. I picked a Sauvignon blanch from the wines by the glass and enjoyed my dinner. The scallops were likewise fried to perfection and bountiful. The service was prompt and attentive . We enjoyed a delicious seafood dinner with a nice water view and were too full for coffee and dessert. The bill came to about $60 before the tip. Well go back after the summer rush is over.
more »
Page 12 of 25

Contact

Edit
101 Channel Dr, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Restaurants
Today 11:30 am - 9:30 pm

About

Edit
Jack Baker’s Wharfside in Point Pleasant Beach, NJ sits directly over the water with a sweeping view of Gull’s Island. The fishing boats glide in after a day’s catch with a flock of seagulls in their wake. The seasonal outdoor deck affords the sounds and sights of the great outdoors.

Early Dining Menu: Mon-Sat 3-5pm, Sun 11:30am-5pm

Check out The Patio Bar here >>> http://www.patiobarnj.com/
more »

Review summary

5  541
4  320
3  122
2  
1  
4.4
983 reviews
Contact Us